In Partnership with Credit Union National Association
Go to main content
SOC - FacebookSOC - TwitterSOC - LinkedINSOC - YouTube
Michigan Credit Union League

Three New MCUL Board Officer Appointments Announced

During the recent September MCUL Board Meeting, the MCUL Board elected three new Board Officers: Chairwoman Heather Luciani, Vice Chairman Dean Trudeau and Secretary/Treasurer Carma Peters.

The League would like to thank Karen Church (CEO, ELGA Credit Union) and Dan Baines (CEO, Bloom Credit Union) for their leadership while serving as MCUL Board Officers, most recently as Chairwoman and Vice Chairman, respectively. Church and Trudeau will continue to remain on MCUL’s Board as Board Directors of District VI and II.

“Karen and Dan have been fabulous leaders and we’re glad to work with them on the board in a non-officer capacity for a bit longer,” said MCUL CEO Dave Adams. 

“We are also excited to announce the election of our new MCUL Board officers. Heather, Dean and Carma have proven themselves to be great individual leaders within the Michigan credit union community and on the MCUL Board, with nearly 50 years of combined CEO experience and numerous board placements elsewhere in the financial services industry,” continued Adams.

The League is grateful to have their guidance and expertise leading the way and looks forward to their strong leadership.

Get to know more about the experience and leadership these new Board officers bring with them below:

Chairwoman Heather Luciani
Heather Luciani, Marshall Community Credit Union CEO, has been named Chairwoman of the MCUL Board, replacing Karen Church.

Alongside serving as CEO of Marshall Community for the last decade, Luciani is involved with advocacy and governance throughout the credit union industry in Michigan. She serves as Vice Chairperson of the MCUL PAC Trustees, a member of the Government and Political Affairs Forum, and a member of the Greater Southwest Chapter of Credit Unions. She is also a member of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services Advisory Council on Credit Unions.

Vice Chairman Dean Trudeau
Dean Trudeau, Public Service Credit Union CEO, has been named Vice Chairman of the MCUL Board, replacing Dan Baines.

Trudeau has more than 25 years of CEO experience. He also serves on many boards and committees, including: Board Member of CU Solutions Group, Treasurer of the MetroWest Chapter of Credit Unions Executive Board, Board Member of the City of Romulus Tax Finance Authority, Chairman of the Romulus Brownfield Development Authority, Treasurer of the Public Safety Commission, Board Member of the Member First Mortgage CUSO, member of the Michigan DIFS Advisory Committee and Treasurer on the Board of Public Service Credit Union.

Secretary/Treasurer Carma Peters
Carma Peters, Michigan Legacy Credit Union CEO, has been named Secretary/Treasurer of the MCUL Board, replacing Heather Luciani.

Peters has been CEO of Michigan Legacy for nearly 15 years. She also serves as the Chair of the Michigan Credit Union Foundation, Chair of Xtend Board, a credit union service organization and Chair of the Downriver Chapter of Credit Unions and serves on the Southeast Michigan Crime Stoppers Board and Vice Chair of the American Lung Association’s local leadership board.

Go to main navigation
Especially For:
2020-10-01 00:00:00