In Partnership with Credit Union National Association
Go to main content
SOC - FacebookSOC - TwitterSOC - LinkedINSOC - YouTube
Michigan Credit Union League

2020 MCUL and MCUF Awards Honor Michigan Credit Unions and Professionals

This week, the Michigan Credit Union League (MCUL) announces the winners of the 2020 MCUL Awards and the Michigan Credit Union Foundation (MCUF) Awards.

Collectively, the MCUL and MCUF Awards recognize credit unions, professionals and volunteers for exemplary efforts in areas including individual and organizational leadership, operational effectiveness, community service and financial education.

“One of the most enjoyable opportunities for an association is its awards process. This year’s recipients are great examples of individual and organizational excellence and the unique commitment to the credit union mission. Congratulations to all!” said MCUL President/CEO Dave Adams.

These winners are continually seeking out new ideas and innovations that make our state a better place for members and staff. They truly live by the standard of “People Helping People.” This year’s MCUL and MCUF Award winners are the embodiment of the credit union difference.

MCUL Award Winners

Distinguished Service Award: This award celebrates a lifetime of achievement for those demonstrating exceptional dedication to the credit union industry over the course of their careers.

  • Karen Church, ELGA Credit Union (Flint)
  • Dean Trudeau, Public Service Credit Union (Detroit)

Outstanding Credit Unions of the Year: This award recognizes a credit union for outstanding contributions with member services and community engagement.

  • Large-Asset-Size Winner: Northland Area Federal Credit Union (Oscoda)
  • Medium-Asset-Size Winner: American 1 Credit Union (Jackson)
  • Small-Asset-Size Winner: Thornapple Credit Union (Hastings)

Professional of the Year: This award celebrates an individual whose leadership and accomplishments have bettered their individual credit union, district/chapter and relationships within the statewide movement.

  • Pat Spyke, LAFCU (Lansing)

Young Professional of the Year: This award recognizes an up-and-coming professional with proven dedication and enthusiasm for the industry and their community.

  • Jeffrey Kusler, Journey Federal Credit Union (St. Johns)

MCUL Chapter Effectiveness Award: This award recognizes an individual chapter for its outstanding achievements in advocacy, collaboration and teamwork on a statewide and national level.

  • Southern Michigan Chapter of Credit Unions (So-Mi Chapter)

Innovation Award: This award recognizes credit unions for innovative thinking and community involvement.

  • Large-Asset-Size Winner: PFCU (Portland)
  • Medium-Asset-Size Winner: Extra Credit Union (Warren)

MCUF Award Winners

Excellence in Consumer Education: This award recognizes an individual or credit union for outstanding contributions and innovation in consumer financial education for members and within the community.

  • Kelly Hatler, CP Federal Credit Union (Jackson)

Credit Union Community Volunteer Award: This award celebrates a credit union employee or member that possesses a history of exemplary volunteer service outside of the credit union system.

  • Michael A. Keast, Michigan One Community Credit Union (Ionia)

While we take the time to honor our member credit unions several times throughout the year, there’s no questions that their impact is felt every single day by the individuals, families and communities they serve.

MCUL and MCUF award winners will be formally honored at MCUL’s 2020 Annual Convention & Exposition in Grand Rapids, this June.

More details and information about each award can be found here.

Go to main navigation
Especially For:
2020-02-20 00:00:00