In Partnership with Credit Union National Association
Go to main content
SOC - FacebookSOC - TwitterSOC - LinkedINSOC - YouTube
Michigan Credit Union League

MCUL Cheers Vote Results As CUNA Members Overwhelmingly Approve Dues Choice

CUNA announced today that its members have overwhelmingly approved a change to its bylaws that will allow for direct membership with the trade group and eliminate the requirement that credit unions also affiliate with their state league in order to join.

The bylaws were previously approved by CUNA’s Board of Directors, which moved the vote on to the association’s full membership. According to CUNA, more than 2,200 credit unions voted—more than 43% of the trade association’s membership—with 90 percent voting in favor of dues choice.

CUNA President/CEO Jim Nussle called the vote “a tremendous victory for credit unions,” and emphasized that “This new membership model allows us to enhance and build upon our already strong interdependence with the leagues. Interdependence has helped us serve the best interests of credit unions for many years."

Michigan Credit Union League & Affiliates President/CEO Dave Adams praised CUNA’s willingness to listen to its membership.

“We’re pleased that CUNA has now enshrined the policy in its bylaws with the overwhelming support of credit unions across the country,” said Adams. “Our league is in lockstep with CUNA on a number of issues, including the importance of responding to the wants and needs of our member credit unions. We’re also united with CUNA in the belief that our industry is most effective when credit unions are members of both their state league and CUNA. So while we’re encouraged by the results of this vote, we want to encourage credit unions to remember the importance of strength in unity, and the benefits they receive from the CUNA/league partnership.”

The bylaws proposal that was approved in the vote can be seen here.

More information on the results of the vote is available here.

Go to main navigation
Especially For:
2016-03-21 00:00:00