In Partnership with Credit Union National Association
Go to main content
SOC - FacebookSOC - TwitterSOC - LinkedINSOC - YouTube
Michigan Credit Union League

Michigan's State-Level CUNA Award Winners Announced

Today, the Michigan Credit Union League (MCUL) announced state-level winners for the 2017 Credit Union National Association (CUNA) Awards. Administered in Michigan by MCUL and CUNA, the Louise Herring, Dora Maxwell and Alphonse Desjardins award programs recognize credit unions for exemplary community service and financial education efforts.

State-level CUNA Award winners will go on to compete against other state league winners for CUNA National Awards. CUNA National Award winners will be announced at the CUNA Government Affairs Conference in February 2018. Judged by asset size category, Michigan’s state-level winners include:

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award state winners

  • $50M-$250M: FreeStar Financial Federal Credit Union (Clinton Township)
  • $250M-$1B: Honor Credit Union (Berrien Springs)
  • More than $1B: Lake Michigan Credit Union (Grand Rapids)

Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award state winners

  • $50M-$250M: Public Service Credit Union (Romulus)
  • $250M-$1B: Alpena Alcona Area Credit Union (Alpena)
  • More than $1B: Michigan Schools & Government Credit Union (Clinton Township)

Desjardins Youth Financial Education Award state winners

  • $50M-$250M: LOC Federal Credit Union (Farmington)
  • $250M-$1B: Community Financial Credit Union (Plymouth)
  • More than $1B: Michigan State University Federal Credit Union (East Lansing)

Desjardins Adult Financial Education Award state winners

  • $250M-$1B: Alliance Catholic Credit Union (Taylor)
  • More than $1B: Michigan State University Federal Credit Union (East Lansing)

“Part of the credit union social mission is to give back to people and communities in imaginative and generous ways,” said MCUL CEO Dave Adams. “Yet, after all these years, it still never fails to amaze just how much imagination and generosity comes out of our member credit unions. We’re very proud of Michigan’s award-winners and wish them luck in the national competition.”

More details and information on each award can be found at

Also today, MCUL announced that it has opened the nomination process for its own Michigan Credit Union League and Michigan Credit Union Foundation (MCUF) Awards. MCUL/MCUF Awards recognize both credit unions and individual credit union employees for industry innovation, chapter effectiveness, community leadership and many other accomplishments.

MCUL/MCUF Awards open for nomination include:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Outstanding Credit Union of the Year Award
  • Credit Union Professional of the Year Award
  • Young Professional of the Year Award
  • Credit Union Youth Advocate of the Year Award
  • MCUL Chapter Effectiveness Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Excellence in Consumer Education Award
  • Credit Union Community Volunteer Award

The MCUL Awards Committee, based on nominations and supporting information received, will choose award winners to be honored at the 2018 MCUL Annual Convention & Exposition held in Traverse City, Mich., June 6-9.

More information regarding awards and nominations can be found at

Go to main navigation
Especially For:
2017-10-02 00:00:00