In Partnership with Credit Union National Association
Go to main content
SOC - FacebookSOC - TwitterSOC - LinkedINSOC - YouTube
Michigan Credit Union League

Outstanding Credit Union of the Year Award


The Credit Union of the Year Award recipient is an affiliated, individual credit union that has been exceptionally supportive of the industry on a local, chapter and state-wide level. This credit union has gone above and beyond in their involvement in advocacy and demonstrates a tireless effort to affect positive change in the industry as a whole.

Award winners are selected based on asset sizes:

  • Up to $49.9 million
  • $50-$399.9 million
  • $400 million and above


The Credit Union of the Year Award is presented for achievement in community involvement and service, financial strength and performance, advocacy and public relations. Distinction in these categories can be demonstrated through:

  • History of service and volunteering that involves all levels of the credit union
  • Chapter involvement and innovation
  • Measurable impact of pioneering and innovative efforts across the industry
  • Regarded as an exceptional mentor and role model by the community
  • Consistent record of advocacy
  • Community impact and volunteering efforts
  • Nomination letter and letters of recommendation


  • Financial strength and performance
  • New and improved services to members
  • New activities or programs
  • Financial literacy efforts
  • Community involvement
  • Community service


  • Legislative advocacy
  • Public relations marketing
  • Determination of Winner

The MCUL Awards Committee, on the basis of the nominations and supporting information received, proposes the winner to the MCUL Board of Directors to be ratified.

Any nomination submitted may be featured in various MCUL and MCUF materials to demonstrate how credit unions and their leaders benefit their communities. Submission of a nomination indicates approval for the MCUL and MCUF to use the nomination materials in its publications and advocacy efforts.

Entry Requirements

  • NOMINATION LETTER: A nomination letter must describe and elaborate in detail upon how the award criteria were met
  • LETTERS OF SUPPORT: A minimum of 2, maximum of 5, letters of support must be sent and are expected to address the author’s first-hand knowledge of the nominee with relation to all of the award criteria
Go to main navigation
Especially For: