In Partnership with Credit Union National Association
Go to main content
SOC - FacebookSOC - TwitterSOC - LinkedINSOC - YouTube
Michigan Credit Union League

Distinguished Service Award


The Distinguished Service Award recipient is an individual who has been exceptionally supportive of the Michigan credit union movement, reaching beyond an individual credit union. This individual has gone above and beyond in their involvement in advocacy and demonstrates a lifelong effort to affect positive change in the industry as a whole.

The award is for lifetime achievement rather than for a single contribution, no matter how monumental. Nominees should have a minimum of 10 years of distinguished service within the credit union industry.


The Distinguished Service Award is presented for achievement in leadership, mentoring, advocacy and service. Distinction in these categories can be demonstrated through:

  • History of distinguished service that spans an entire career on a local, state and national level
  • Leadership participation, such as committee memberships, special projects, boards, chapters, etc.
  • Measurable impact of pioneering and innovative efforts across the industry
  • Regarded as an exceptional mentor and role model by professional colleagues
  • Consistent record of advocacy
  • Community impact and volunteering efforts
  • Nomination letter and letters of recommendation

Entry Requirements

  • NOMINATION LETTER: A nomination letter must describe and elaborate in detail upon how the award criteria were met
  • LETTERS OF SUPPORT: A minimum of 2, maximum of 5, letters of support must be sent and are expected to address the author’s first-hand knowledge of the nominee with relation to all of the award criteria
Go to main navigation
Especially For: