Priority Report
SAS Gazette
InfoSight Newsletter
CUBE TV and Multimedia
League InfoSight
CUNA News Now
Corporate Credit Union System Resolution
Industry Data & Analysis
MCUL Reports and Surveys
CU Resource Materials
Michigan Credit Union League Home » Information Services » Publications » News Articles  

House Republicans Name Bolger Speaker   (Misc News: November 11, 2010)

Rep. Jase Bolger, R-Marshall, will be the new speaker of the state House, leading the chamber’s 63-member Republican majority.

Meanwhile, the 47-member incoming House Democratic caucus elected Rep. Richard Hammel, D-Mt. Morris Twp., as its leader for the 2011-12 legislative session.

Hammel was considered the favorite going into the closed-door caucus election. However, there was some question whether the results of the general election would turn the caucus toward the other candidate, Rep. Woodrow Stanley, D-Flint, who had the support of some segments of organized labor.

Along with Bolger, the Republicans picked Rep. Jim Stamas, R-Midland, as majority floor leader, Rep. John Walsh, R-Livonia, as speaker pro tem and Rep. Pete Lund, R-Shelby Twp., as majority whip.

The Democrats chose Rep. Kate Segal, D-Battle Creek, as minority floor leader. The rest of the party’s leadership positions were temporarily left open.

"We are honored to have been granted this opportunity," Bolger told the Michigan Information & Research Service. "Our caucus is united. We understand that government doesn't create jobs, individuals do. We're committed to reforming spending, reforming taxes and reforming regulations.”

The other House Republican posts filled by caucus election today included:

Majority caucus chair: Rep. Dave Agema, R-Grandville; associate speaker pro tems: Margaret O’Brien, R-Portage, and Rep. Paul Opsommer, R-DeWitt; assistant majority floor leaders: Lisa Posthumus Lyons, R-Alto, and Jeff Farrington, R-Utica; and majority caucus vice chair: Amanda Price, R-Holland.

MCUL Home About Us Press Room For Consumers Home Contact Us Site Map