The CU Difference Home
Community Reinvestment Initiative
CRI Report and Survey
Implement a CRI Product or Program
Financial Education
Legislative and Regulatory Advocacy
CU Link Cooperative Advertising
Michigan Credit Union League Home » The CU Difference » Community Reinvestment Initiative » Financial Education *old* » Award Programs » Herring, Maxwell and Desjardins Award Programs  

Herring, Maxwell and Desjardins Award Programs

Herring, Maxwell and Desjardins Awards Programs

Administered by the Michigan Credit Union League & Affiliates and CUNA, the Louise Herring, Dora Maxwell and Alphonse Desjardins awards programs are a wonderful way for credit unions to showcase all the great things they do for their members and their communities. Below you'll find a brief description of each of the programs along with links to award information and entry packets. Please click on this link for the 2014 Awards Differentiation Chart.

2013 Michigan Maxwell, Herring and Desjardins Award Winners

Dora Maxwell    
$20-$50 M 1st Place Communicating Arts CU
$50-$100 M 1st Place North Central Area CU
$100-$200 M 1st Place Oakland County CU
$200-$500 M 1st Place Alpena Alcona Area CU
$1B plus 1st Place Lake Trust CU
$50-$100 M 2nd Place Calcite CU
$100-$200 M 2nd Place Saginaw Medical FCU
$200-$500 M 2nd Place Financial Plus FCU
$1B plus 2nd Place Michigan State University FCU
$100-$200 M Honorable Mention Central Macomb Community CU
$200-$500 M Honorable Mention Honor CU
Louise Herring    
$50-$250 M 1st Place Public Service CU
$250 -$1B 1st Place Michigan First CU
$1B plus 1st Place Michigan Schools & Gov't CU
$250 -$1B 2nd Place Consumers CU
$50-$250 M Honorable Mention Central Macomb Community CU
$1B plus Honorable Mention Michigan State University FCU
Alphonse Desjardins  Youth  
$50-$150 M 1st Place Public Service CU
$150-$500 M 1st Place CASE CU
More than $500 M 1st Place Michigan Schools & Gov't CU
$50-$150 M Honorable Mention Community West CU
$150-$500 M Honorable Mention University of Michigan CU
More than $500 M Honorable Mention Michigan First CU
Alphonse Desjardins Adult  
Btw $150 and $500 M 1st Place University of Michigan CU
More than $500 M 1st Place Michigan First CU
More than $500 M Honorable Mention Michigan Schools & Gov't CU

Louise Herring Award Program

Louise Herring was an active supporter, organizer and champion of credit unions. She was the Ohio delegate to the 1934 national credit union conference in Estes Park, Colorado, where she signed the original constitution for a national credit union association. Louise Herring believed that credit unions should work in a practical manner to better people's lives. She saw the credit union as more than just a financial institution. In her own words, "The purpose of the credit union is to reform the financial system, so that everyone can have his place in the sun."

Dora Maxwell Award Program

Dora Maxwell was an early credit union pioneer. One of the original signers of CUNA's constitution at Estes Park, Colorado, she worked as an organizer for the movement's trade association (then called the Credit Union National Extension Bureau) and held numerous volunteer positions at the local and national level. In addition to organizing hundreds of credit unions, she developed volunteer organizer clubs and worked with organizations on behalf of the poor.

Desjardins Award Program

Alphonse Desjardins was a credit union pioneer who was instrumental in forming the Canadian and U.S. credit union movements. Besides helping to found the first credit unions in Canada and the U.S., Desjardins pioneered youth savings clubs and in-school "banks", known as caisses scolaires. This award honors leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of youth and adult financial literacy.

Credit Union Forms

Chapter Forms
CU Youth Entry Form & Checklist  (Word) Chapter Youth Entry Form & Checklist  (Word)
CU Youth Entry Form & Checklist (PDF) Chapter Youth Entry Form & Checklist (PDF)
CU Adult Entry Form & Checklist (Word) Chapter Adult Entry Form & Checklist (Word)
CU Adult Entry Form & Checklist (PDF) Chapter Adult Entry Form & Checklist (PDF)





Attn: Kathryn Hall

Helpful Information about the Maxwell, Herring & Desjardins Awards Programs


MCUL Home About Us Press Room For Consumers Home Contact Us Site Map